Covishield indian vaccine

Italy recognises Covishield vaccine

Coronavirus News Travel & Tourism

The Indian Embassy in Rome announced on Friday that Italy now recognises Covishield as a valid vaccine against Covid. This means anyone who has received the vaccine is now eligible for the Green Pass.

The Indian Embassy in Rome announced on Friday that after a meeting between the Minister of Health of India, Mansukh Mandaviya, and his Italian counterpart, Roberto Speranza, the Italian Ministry of Health has decided to recognise the Indian-made vaccine, Covishield, as valid proof of immunity.

As a result, anyone vaccinated against COVID-19 with Covishield can now enter Italy. Additionally, everyone immunized with this vaccine is now eligible for the Green Pass, reported.

Entry to Italy for Covishield immunised

The Italian Green Pass is an extension of the EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate, which means that Italy recognises all other equivalent passes issued by other countries, regardless if they are part of the EU or not. However, it hasn’t been revealed yet what requirements will apply to those arriving from a third country.

Since the Italian authorities have not yet made an official announcement, it is still unknown whether those immunised with Covishield will have to follow entry restrictions when entering Italy.

Until Friday, Italy had only recognised the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) – AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria), Pfizer/BioNTech (Comirnaty), Moderna (Spikevax), Johnson & Johnson (Janssen). This meant only those immunised with one of the four vaccines were considered fully vaccinated when entering the country.

Read: San Marino residents vaccinated with Sputnik V not recognised for Green Pass

After the vaccines approved for use by EMA, the Indian-manufactured Covishield vaccine is most widely recognised by the EU countries. Until now, 18 of the 27 EU countries recognised Covishield.

EU countries which recognise Covishield as valid proof of immunity (excepting Italy):

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Latvia
  • Netherlands
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Leave a Reply