Milan is in one of the four new yellow zones that come into effect on 3rd January 2022

Italy to have 11 yellow zones from Monday

Coronavirus News

The Italian regions of Lazio, Lombardy, Piedmont and Sicily will be classified as low-moderate risk yellow zones from 3 January. Under Italy’s four-tiered system of covid-19 restrictions, there will be 11 ‘zone gialle’ on Monday.

With infections rising, four more regions of Italy will enter the low-moderate risk, yellow zones on 3rd January. Lazio, Lombardy, Piedmont and Sicily join Bolzano, Calabria, Friuli Venezia Giulia, Liguria, Marche, Trento and Veneto.

The rest of Italy remains in the lowest risk, white, zone. The scale increases from white to yellow, orange and red.

Yellow zone

To classify as a yellow zone, a region must reach the threshold of 10% in intensive care and 15% in general hospitalisations. In addition, there must be a weekly incident rate of 50 cases per 100,000 inhabitants.

The health ministry announced the four new zones on New Year’s Eve, the same day Italy registered 144,243 covid infections over the previous 24 hours.

During his New Year address, Italy’s outgoing president Sergio Mattarella thanked Italians for their “maturity and sense of responsibility” during the two years of the pandemic. He also paid particular tribute to healthcare workers.

Related articles:

Draghi for President?

Berlusconi signals he wants presidency

Mattarella also berated those who “waste” the opportunity to receive a covid vaccine. He described it as an “offence” to all those who didn’t have the chance.

For official information about the covid-19 situation in Italy (in English), visit the health ministry website.

Leave a Reply