Border controls with Austria and Italy started 2pm 21st October 2023. This image shows the border at Brenner

Border controls with Austria and Slovenia


Italy’s suspension of the Schengen Accords on free movement along with several other countries in a bid to stop terrorists began at 2pm Saturday. Border controls resumed at frontiers with Slovenia and Austria, and will initially last for ten days.

The suspension of the Schengen Treaty border controls for security reasons related to possible terrorist infiltration via the ‘Balkan route’ along the Balkan countries took effect at 2 p.m., officials said. Initially, the measure will last ten extendable days, i.e. until 2 p.m. on Tuesday, 31 October.

As far as Friuli Venezia Giulia is concerned, the measure includes the 22 main crossings for 232 kilometres of the border with Slovenia to the east and with Austria to the north. From now on, documents can be requested when entering and leaving Italy.

A number of countries including Austria, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Slovenia and Slovakia have announced new controls along their borders.

They are trying to prevent people smugglers from using routes through the Balkans to bring migrants to Central and Western Europe. 

Leave a Reply